PDA

View Full Version : Ottrott ST purchase/spec.

Carpe Diem
09-02-2004, 04:14 AM
Hi,
I was bitten by the bicycle bug a couple of years ago, being a cycling novice I borrowed (and subsequently purchased) a second hand CSI (Campa Chorus) and have been a Serotta fan ever since, this Winter I want to buy an Ottrot ST. Whilst I ride long and hard and get a lot out of my bike, my knowledge of wheels, tyres, groupsets, forks, headsets etc is very limited. The local dealer (Frankfurt, Germany) has so far been very helpful (not surprising considering the cost !) but I figured Iīd log onto the forum in the hope of getting some help from Ottrot riders and people with an encyclopedic bike knowledge, regarding the spec for my new purchase.
Cost isnīt necessarily an option (if a jobīs worth doing, itīs worth doing well) but I want a set up that is robust, durable (but light) and will enable me to ride 20 mile sprints (workdays) and 100 mile slogs (weekends), please bare in mind itīs hilly over here in Europe !
Iīm 36, 5.11 tall, weigh 73 kilos, Iīm not a cycling purist and I leave all maintenance to the guys in the shop, but whenever I get on my bike I give 101%
Thanks in advance for the help/suggestions .......

spiderman
09-02-2004, 09:26 AM
parallel lives.
i am also new to biking/road riding in the last 5 years...
going from a lemond alpe du huez as an introductory aluminum frame,
then buying a steel '93 serotta colorado crl with shimano 105s...
...in april i purchased an ottrott st (03) from the serotta website auction
for one third the price and then purchased my LBS owners
one-year old dura ace group (9) with shimano carbon wheelset/sew ups...
i also really like the FSA carbon bars and arione saddle...
i've been totally impressed with the ride
and am well on my way to 6400 miles this year
clocking 20 mile noon sprints and 100 mile weekend trips
enjoying every mile...
there's a 56 cm ottrott st frame/fork on the serotta website,
but the price is still pretty high...