PDA

View Full Version : Best Oregon Centuries

SadieKate
03-08-2008, 11:38 PM
Tell me about your favorite Oregon centuries. I know the singletrack around here like the back of my hand, but I'm new to the century scene. What are your favorite and why? Least traffic? Best scenery? Best weather?* What are the climbs like? Which should I avoid because the weather is always hot? Support? Food?

I have a friend who is just getting her century legs back after a couple years away to become a new mom so we're trying to find a good goal.

The closer to Bend the better just because she's a new mom and I've got an elderly, throughly spoiled, and demanding Superb Poodle.

*Best weather means the least need for odor-arm-de-molderant

rcnute
03-08-2008, 11:55 PM
Spring/Pioneer Century starting in Woodburn. Not so close to Bend, but fun (and the only Oregon one I've done).

shinomaster
03-08-2008, 11:58 PM
STP is fun...once.

vaxn8r
03-09-2008, 12:36 AM
There's a great Century out of Bend, going all the way around Batchelor. Epic.

shinomaster
03-09-2008, 12:37 AM
There's a great Century out of Bend, going all the way around Batchelor. Epic.

What about the Vuelta a PDX?

jimcav
03-09-2008, 12:40 AM
it was a blast, a little over 100 miles, but there are various starting points that make it less.
the rest stops were nice, well stocked, it was a great ride. nice finish feast, great camping nearby (if you have someone who will drive your car to the finish of course)

jim

SadieKate
03-09-2008, 01:14 AM
There's a great Century out of Bend, going all the way around Batchelor. Epic.Are you thinking of the Ice Cream Classic? Have you ridden it?

I've ridden around Bachelor. It is stunning.

SadieKate
03-09-2008, 01:19 AM
The Beach in 2006? Reach the Beach?

Vuelta a PDX?

Is this a test to see how well I Google? You guys aren't doing so well with actual names of centuries.

STP I know. I'll pass. I like small. I don't even need to try it once.

bcm119
03-09-2008, 04:08 AM