PDA

View Full Version : Campy G3 Wheels?

97CSI
03-03-2008, 05:59 PM
Need one more set of wheels and am looking at Campy's Khamsin, Vento and Scirocco wheelsets, which are all based on their 'G3' spoke design technology. Has anyone any experience with any of these wheels? If so, what do you think? Thanks.

Alexi
03-03-2008, 06:00 PM
i've had a few pairs of the ventos, I sold them all to upgrade to chorus and white industries hubs

MilanoTom
03-03-2008, 06:50 PM
i've had a few pairs of the ventos, I sold them all to upgrade to chorus and white industries hubs

I've got a a set of Sciroccos (2004 or so) and Khamsins. I've had no problems, but I can't really say that the spoking seems to make much of a difference over any other wheels I've had. Perhaps it does in the higher-end models.

Tom

Kervin
03-03-2008, 06:50 PM
I've got a set of Eurus wheels that I am very happy with. G3 rear, radial front. I have had NO experience with a G3 front, but I read a blog on Sprinter della Casa (http://sprinterdellacasa.blogspot.com/search?q=g3) that got me thinking it wasn't a good idea for the front.

97CSI
03-03-2008, 06:55 PM
OK......I'm easy. Your info and various postings on the web have convinced me to order a set of the Scirocco wheels. If I like and my weight drops back to a Campy certified 178, I may try a set of the Neutons in the future. Will now have a 100% Campy CSI (excepting the PW BB and Thomson seatpost).

Matt Barkley
03-03-2008, 07:42 PM
I have found all the campy (and fulcrum) prebuilts to be of the best quality and durability. G3 all the way. :beer:

handsomerob
03-03-2008, 07:55 PM
OK......I'm easy. Your info and various postings on the web have convinced me to order a set of the Scirocco wheels. If I like and my weight drops back to a Campy certified 178, I may try a set of the Neutons in the future. Will now have a 100% Campy CSI (excepting the PW BB and Thomson seatpost).