PDA

View Full Version : 95 mile solo ride

flydhest
02-15-2008, 08:44 PM
So, I've been working like an idiot for the past several months. For those who know what I do, that may not be a surprise. I took today off work and went for a ride by myself. The riding I have been doing lately has mostly been for others. Leading the shop ride, doing skills training classes, that sort of thing. I got in a solo ride today that ended up being 95 miles. I had intended on a bit less, but hey. There's something satisfying and rejuvenating about getting in a long, reasonably hard solo ride every so often.

When I saw the computer, I thought about putting in another 5, but then I thought of one of my favorite things that BikeSnobNY wrote, which I paraphrase: a century is what real cyclists simply call a long ride.

Who cares about that extra five miles?

Kevan
02-15-2008, 09:06 PM
Exactomento. Who cares about the miles? A ride is over when when it's over.

Too Tall
02-15-2008, 09:14 PM
Warms my heart knowing you did this for yourself buddy boy :) Without you , intact that is, the world is a bit dimmer and we depend on your light, wisdom and AW GEE HOW ABOUT THAT HUG? ;)

manet
02-15-2008, 09:18 PM
nice

Grant McLean
02-15-2008, 09:26 PM
go ahead and google "Mark Beaumont"

here's a hint:
http://news.scotsman.com/latestnews/Pedal-power-and-the-glory.3784901.jp

-g

djg
02-15-2008, 09:33 PM
Excellent fly -- good day for it too.

DarrenCT
02-15-2008, 09:34 PM
go ahead and google "Mark Beaumont"

here's a hint:
http://news.scotsman.com/latestnews/Pedal-power-and-the-glory.3784901.jp

-g

wow

i think i could do that with a support team and lots and lots of beer

(who the hell am i kidding)

khjr
02-15-2008, 10:54 PM
a century is what real cyclists simply call a long ride. Who cares about that extra five miles?

Indeed - it's better to be free of that Base Ten slavery, anyway.

How many moments did you get in?

Ray
02-16-2008, 01:47 AM
Nice going Flyd,