PDA

View Full Version : Clicking in the BB

bumperjohn
02-06-2008, 03:29 PM
Well, I am still new to this and trying to learn. I have taken to commuting to work on my fixed gear and I noticed that there is a clicking noise coming from my bottom bracket. It happens twice on each revolution of the pedals at the 3 and 9 o'clock positions. I do not have any experience yet in the mechanics of bicycles other than changing tires, chains, and adjusting brakes and derailuers. I was hoping someone could help me diagnose the problem and what I may need to do to fix it. Thanks in advance!

John

Kevan
02-06-2008, 03:37 PM
you might want to do a search here on the subject of creaks, everyone has experienced them. You think it's the bb and it might be. It might be the pedals, the crank arms, your cleats, or even your fillings too.

I've had bb creak before and have had the shop tighten it up first, then on another visit add some teflon tape before giving it the wrench. I've been click free since.

maunahaole
02-06-2008, 03:43 PM
or the chainrings, seatpost, or even the front derailleur. Get in there and check stuff out

bshell
02-06-2008, 03:53 PM
grease the dropouts and the ferrules

Ti Designs
02-06-2008, 03:58 PM
grease the dropouts and the ferrules

Grease the dropouts???

Blue Jays
02-06-2008, 04:00 PM
Yep, definitely hit everything that should be lubricated with some spray first. Coat the seatpost with the correct material-specific (ex: aluminum, carbon fiber, titanium, etc., etc.) prepatory lubricant for the frame in question.

bshell
02-06-2008, 04:03 PM
yes, grease the dropouts

bshell
02-06-2008, 04:09 PM
very common source of creaks. think of your aluminum fork tips, your titanium rear drops, or even a painted frame. the interface is dry metal. And there's a lot of torque and twist going on.

bshell
02-06-2008, 04:14 PM