PDA

View Full Version : What level Campy for my IF?

CaptStash
02-04-2008, 11:37 PM
I am building-up an IF Crown Jewel that I got from and friend and fellow Serotta Forum member and have made the mental commitment to go with Campy over Shimano. I have a few other bikes with various levels of DA on them which I am quite happy with, but the IF somehow seemed to be screaming Campy at me. Now...I have no experience with Campy at all. Centaur is right in the sweet spot of my budget. I am leaning towards a compact crank as well and am looking at one on eBay right now.

So my question to the good and experienced as well as fabulously opinionated forumites amongst you, what do you think of the Centaur level Campy gear? Will I be happy when I get off my DA bike and on to a Centaur equipped bike? Anything else I should know or you suggest?

CaptStash....

PS: I got a set of Campy Eurus wheels so I am pretty much committed now!

Blue Jays
02-05-2008, 12:08 AM
You could stretch your budget a tad, satisfy your promise, and opt for Chorus to put your mind at ease.

shinomaster
02-05-2008, 12:24 AM
www.probikekit.com Chorus levers and the rest can be centaur....It will be great!

3chordwonder
02-05-2008, 01:20 AM
Stretch the budget sweet spot (if possible, of course) to Chorus so you can ride your bike contentedly for years to come without ever feeling the 'need' to upgrade. imho.

Steve Hampsten
02-05-2008, 01:24 AM
chorus (or sram) shifters is what i would do

shimano cranks

thwart
02-05-2008, 02:01 AM
If you already have Eurus wheels, I guess that rules out Mirage... :D

Seriously, the Centaur stuff is very, very good---equal to Ultegra (at least). And if you like the alloy crank look, that gruppo is the way to go in the Campy '07-'08 stuff.