PDA

View Full Version : Anyone riding the Bay Country Century on 9/4/04?

Spectrum Bob
08-17-2004, 04:16 PM
I just signed up for the Bay Country Century on Saturday, September 4th and was wondering if anyone from the forum was planning on riding it?

This century is taking place on Maryland's western shore and I have only heard good things about it. The last few times I rode the Seagull Century, I found it to be way too crowded. This century is limited to 1500 and I am hoping it will be a good alternative.

If anyone wants to join in on the fun let me know.

Spectrum Bob

Dekonick
08-17-2004, 10:20 PM
Ye willing to go slow?

Seriously, IF I can get leave I think Ill do it... Will be my first century. Dunno why I have never done one before...just never have.

Spectrum Bob
08-18-2004, 07:37 AM
Dekonick
A first century is a wonderful thing.
How slow are you talking?
I am not looking at doing anything super fast, but would like to finish with an upper 16 to 18 average speed.
Hope you can get the leave, I would enjoy the company.
Spectrum Bob

Dekonick
08-18-2004, 09:34 PM
I can swing 17, perhaps 18 - not sure if I can do it for an entire century solo, but if I draft no problem.

I assume its mostly flat? I am slower in the hills - I average 14-15 (with stops) in the Ellicott City area when doing my climbs.

Ill send a PM as soon as I find out about leave.

Sandy
08-18-2004, 11:48 PM
I haven't ridden many long rides at all. But I might try it. Not sure yet.

Can we do it over 10 days, at 10 miles a day?

Could we do it like Kevan does it? Ride 20 miles and say you did 100.

Could we do it like my pet ,Snail Sandy- .1 mile a day?

Sandy

Dekonick
08-19-2004, 08:35 AM
Why dont we try to get a bunch of the local Serottans together and do a paceline? VA rider, Sandy, PBbob (if everything is ok with his family and he feels up to it), Smiley, etc... It could be interesting!

No promises from me about speed...but Ill provide good entertainment!

pbbob
08-23-2004, 03:51 PM