PDA

View Full Version : Understanding Aliante models

wasfast
01-29-2008, 07:03 AM
I've been riding Fizik Aliante's for the last 3 years. I have 3 of the Carbon top /Ti rail versions. I never considered the carbon railed version as I previously was over the weight limit.

In addition to those 2 models, we now have the Sport and Gamma models which use a different molding material for the carbon. I also notice that probikekit.com has a Delta model, complete with different logo. This version isn't on the Fizik site either.

Lastly, they've replaced the Ti rails with K'ium(what ever that is) due to cost, or so I've heard.

1) Basic question #1 , how much different are the Gamma models from the carbon version? Who's compared them side by side in a ride test?

2) What's the Delta all about?

Steve Hampsten
01-29-2008, 11:50 AM
1 - I've ridden the carbon and the non-carbon bodied versions and the non-carbon feels harsher to my tender tush. But it could have been the bike/wheels/tires/breakfast

2 - Beat me

K'ium is chrome moly steel, supposedly weighs the same as the ti rails

PaulE
01-29-2008, 02:33 PM
and just bought two of the deltas from Probikekit for 2 of my other bikes. One of these deltas has magnesium rails and the other has Ti rails. The black underside of these deltas is either plastic or nylon instead of carbon, but they both have the same white mesh visible in the center of the underside, just like the carbon saddle with Ti rails does. Dimensionally they all look the same size within a couple of mm's. I haven't installed or ridden on the two deltas yet. The cost of the two from Probikekit was about the same as the cost of the other one I bought, and the colors were right, so I took a chance.

Simon Q
01-29-2008, 03:56 PM
I have one with the original carbon rails (wrapped in metal) and a Ti and I can't tell the difference. if anything, the Ti may have better spring/suspension. not sure which way I would go now. Maybe carbon because it looks tricky.