PDA

View Full Version : Comfort and fit question

roadie7
08-16-2004, 05:11 AM
I have about 100 miles on my new Concourse and the ride is great but I'm having a comfort problem. I had been riding a Lemond Zurich for 5 years and 12,000 miles. The Conourse is set up significantly differently: 1 cm taller; handlebars are 2 cm wider, cranks 2 cm longer; and the stem has a rise while the Lemond stem went downwards. The only similiarity is that I moved my Brooks B17 saddle to the Courcourse from the Lemond.

My problem is that the outer part of my butt muscles are hurting after any ride. I've moved the Brooks saddle back and forth and have tried to raise the nose. I don['t know if it's the saddle, should I get a new Brooks saddle and have it broken in on this bike or is it the geometry or is it something else?

Any and all ideas would help.

Thanks.

bikedadjc
08-16-2004, 06:33 AM
It sounds as thought it could possibly be q-factor width? What pedals are you using?

keno
08-16-2004, 06:48 AM
Consider the possibility that the new position has enabled you to emphasize the use of muscles not fully engaged on your Lemond. I had my Spectrum designed specifically to allow me to engage my glutes. Did you have the biked fitted for you?

keno

Smiley
08-16-2004, 07:16 AM
Was your serotta bike fit sized with your Brooks Saddle ? If not then go back and have everything re-checked using the brooks. Brooks saddles will push you forward and will screw everything on the sizing done before using a narrow saddle . Thats my take on it .

bostondrunk
08-16-2004, 08:37 AM
Cranks are 2cm longer? Wow, you must have been riding 155cm cranks beforew. What idiot did your fitting??
As for the saddle, sounds like you need a wider one if the outside of your butt hurts. Try a more normal saddle, like a rolls.

Ahneida Ride
08-16-2004, 10:16 AM
The use of a Brooks requied that I switch to an offset post.
I needed to position the saddle back further. Is this an issue ?

shaq-d
08-16-2004, 11:36 AM