PDA

View Full Version : Skiing rocks!

saab2000
01-25-2008, 09:15 PM
So I got dragged out to Cannonsburg Ski Area here in Grand Rapids for a night of skiing. It is my second calling after cycling. I love it.

I never get to go 'cuz of the time and money... But when I do it's a blast. Seriously, the last time I was out skiing was three years ago in Utah at Alta and Park City.

No, I am not very good at it, but it is such a blast!

My true calling would be riding in the summer as soon as the roads can support it, and ride until the snow flies, at which time I would run a ski shop or be an instructor. Or both.

Seriously. Outdoors, fast, in the hills.

Does it get any better?

maunahaole
01-25-2008, 09:19 PM
Actually, it does. You go someplace other than Cannonburg...

Be careful of the drunks on the hill there at night.

Cut you teeth there and move on to better hills.

saab2000
01-25-2008, 09:27 PM
Actually, it does. You go someplace other than Cannonburg...

Be careful of the drunks on the hill there at night.

Cut you teeth there and move on to better hills.

The first hill I ever skied was St. Moritz. I guess yeah, the skiing does get better than Cannonburg, but skiing itself is sorta what I meant. Besides, for being 15 minutes from my house it's not bad.

For all the whining I do about my job, one of the big perks is that I can fly anywhere.

I'm going to Innsbruck in about 3 weeks...... I think there is some decent skiing nearby.

ti_boi
01-25-2008, 09:40 PM
Nothing like the 'local hill'...I'm 45 minutes from one that will suffice.....not a bad way to spend a day....or night! :beer:

onekgguy
01-25-2008, 10:06 PM
My daughter and I try and make a point of getting out once each year. We pick a day when it's not likely to be crowded and we each play hookey.

If I were younger I think I'd be into snow boarding...hard to know. It looks fun.

http://kevinandtammy.net/images/our_photos/kevin_and_rachel_at_afton_march_2006.jpg

Kevin g

A.L.Breguet
01-26-2008, 05:25 AM