PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Questions????????

CKAZ613
01-24-2008, 06:02 PM
I have been riding for a few years now, but not really sure of what size I should really be riding?
I am 5'11" with a 32 inseam.
what kind of range would be good for me with out having to do a bike fit.
Any help would be great
thanks!!!

Erik.Lazdins
01-24-2008, 06:09 PM
Not a stupid question.

There are many ways to get a bike that fits, as there are many positions the body can acclimate to while on the bike. Are you comfortable?

I was fit as a kid with the stand over the bike and pick it up - have a fistful of seatpost fit model.

After considering many different formats - the bike I ride is not that far different from my original fit.

I have some friends that ride bikes that look smaller than what I ride and some that ride a bike fitted similarly to what I have.

Check out Rivendell and check out Competitive cyclist - that may give you a good starting point - which in my view you are already past

You said You have been riding a few years - I would presume comfortably?

Good luck - keep posting :beer:

swoop
01-24-2008, 06:12 PM
i have red hair and a size 42 shoe. what size should i ride?

get a fit. the fit itself is a reference point. i have the same inseam and i'm barely 5'8" ... think of the roulette that is buying clothes without ever trying them on.

even if the fit comes out of an old notebook that says new england academy on it.. it's a good starting point.

its basic but there are enough variables that it can't hurt having someone have a look to see if you're a 56-58cm frame atmo-ish. no short cuts.

if you have short legs and a long torso things get interesting when picking stock sizes.

hansolo758
01-24-2008, 06:37 PM