PDA

View Full Version : Anybody using Skype?

ericspin
01-17-2008, 05:44 AM
I have noticed the word Skype in ergott's signature before and alwways wondered what it was.

I am a contractor and am in a situation where there is no landline service into the business park in which we are building. It's coming but it will be months down the road. In the mean time my cell is my sole source of communication and it is getting real expensive. Anyway several people have suggested Skype and since we have a real wealth of knowledege here I thought maybe someone could enlighten me.

Anyone? ergott?

Thanks,
Eric

weiwentg
01-17-2008, 05:47 AM
Skype works pretty well, although you need to have a decent internet connection. it's been very useful to communicate with people abroad or at long distance. if your receiving party are technophobes, you can buy credit to call a landline or cellphone for around $0.02 a minute.

Brendan Quirk
01-17-2008, 06:03 AM
Skype is awesome, especially if you find yourself on conference calls with any sort of frequency. Instead of having to have people piled into one room with a crappy speaker phone, people can all sit at their cpu's and talk instead. And it makes it so that you can do work while you're half-asleep on the call(!)

Keep in mind all domestic phone calls are FREE with Skype. That's awesome. The audio quality is a bit touch and go, but it's workable. [That is -- calls from Skype TO Skype are free.]

The IM functionality is perfect.

And in terms of int'l calls, the int'l calling rates are stupidly cheap, like $.02 a minute. You have to pre-purchase credits, and they expire after like 6 months, but for $10 you can talk like mad. FWIW, our foreign suppliers all use Skype. It's seemingly been widely adopted by Europe & Asia.