PDA

View Full Version : TUFO Tires??

Scott
08-08-2004, 08:07 PM
:confused: Anyone used Tufos? They seem to promise the world... run flat, easy install, supple ride, high pressure, great feel, etc... but I can't find anyone who has actually tried them. I'd either put them on my K's or 404's.

Thanks.

PBWrench
08-08-2004, 08:16 PM
I've got TUFO jet elite 160 gram tubies on a set of Nimble Fly wheels. Ultralight, soft and supple, and with about 600 miles on the set so far, more durable than I anticipated at this very light weight tire. I've no experience with their unique clinchers.

Too Tall
08-09-2004, 05:49 AM
Tubs or Clinchers?

Scott
08-09-2004, 05:57 AM
Clinchers.

dave.delano
08-09-2004, 09:28 AM
:banana: :banana: :banana:

I have the clincher TUFOS on my race wheels (Zipp 303 front, 404 rear) and have been really happy with them. The new ones (out of the box) are tough to install the first time, but once they are stretched, easy to re-install. NO TIRE LEVERS REQUIRED! I have had 160psi in these guys and they roll like crazy. Have used them at Ironman Lake Placid and they made me FEEL fast. I have four more triathlons left in this season (all sprints or olympics) so I'll be able to make some speed comparisions to last year.

The only other drawback is that the spare is rather bulky...but that is offset by not needing tools.

Too Tall
08-09-2004, 01:13 PM
OK. No experiance with the clinchers, sorry.

Bob H
08-11-2004, 08:33 AM
I use the tubular version of this tire and I no longer carry a spare - just an extra tube of sealant. You put some in the tire as a preventative and can add more in the event of a flat if necessary. If I get a tear, then I'll just have to go to Plan B - trying to explain to my wife where I am via cell phone. I don't want to tempt fate with the flat tire gods, but (whispering)... so far so good after two years and about 4,000 miles. Of course, I fully expect to flat on this afternoons ride...