PDA

View Full Version : OT iPod Book Downloads

keno
12-13-2007, 06:10 PM
I'm new to the iPod (Classic 80GB) works, and am giving one to my wife. She is interested in having books on the gizmo. A few questions:

Which are the better websites in terms of selection, price, ease of use?

How much memory does say a 300 page book take? Font and all that, I understand, but ballpark is all I want.

How long to download that 300 pages to the iPod?

Can the 300 be stored on the PC internal or external memory for other use, like a CD or listening while on the PC not requiring full attention?

Thanks,

keno

rwsaunders
12-13-2007, 07:41 PM
Here's a start if you're downloading book CD's to the pc, then the Pod. I know that some of the 30meg podcasts can take 5-6 minutes to download.

http://goldcoaster.wordpress.com/2006/07/29/importing-audio-book-cds-into-itunes/

sc53
12-13-2007, 07:46 PM
I subscribe to Audible (www.audible.com) and download loads of books to my iPod. The 80gb holds many books and the downloads are very fast--a couple minutes for a 600 page biography of John Adams for example. A couple minutes for ****ens' Our Mutural Friend. You can choose the bit rate of the files too, I use the second highest fidelity but you can choose the lowest one (there are 4 levels). Audible is easy to browse and use and I somehow get 2 free book downloads per month. Not sure why, something about my membership. I've never actually bought a book, just pay the subscription fee each month and use the free downloads. Just to clarify--you listen to the books on the iPod as some actor reads them; you don't actually read the text on that tiny screen! There is a device, made by Sony I think, that is a tablet with a screen on which you actually read text. Ipod is for audio books.

terrytnt
12-14-2007, 06:54 AM