PDA

View Full Version : Sicko

jhcakilmer
12-05-2007, 12:21 PM
I know this movie has been out for some time now, but my wife and I just watched it last night, and as a future physician I felt that is was necessary, if not an obligation.

First off, let me just say I have always been a firm, and outspoken supporter of socialized medicine, as well as education. So this film did not really convince me, or change my mind in anyway.

I did feel that Moore's view was intentionally, and cynically pessimistic, but I think he made many valid, and important points about the failures of our healthcare system.

I could of done with less drama, and more facts. Like
50 million americans lack any healthcare (which is actually closer to 70 million), and 100-120 million have unusable healthcare, since their deductable is 5 grand, or more. Plus, 90,000 die every year due to medication errors, or that we spend more than 4 times what other western countries spend on healthcare.

It seemed more comparative, and less substantive, then his previous films, all of which I enjoyed.

In general, I think as Americans we tend to be complacent, and accept what is give to us, and I think that is incredibly unfortunate. Our country is so excessively wealth, and posses so many resources, I find it very difficult to imagine that we would have any problem funding these types of programs....but I'm sure someone may try to convince me otherwise. I think it's the management of the system that presents the challenge, but I think the UK, France, and Italy offer some excellent examples, and precepts.

I guess it comes down to the simple belief that healthcare is a "right" NOT a "privelage"! I worry that I may have a hard time staying employed, if I'm forced to reject a patient that doesn't have health insurance. My wife says we should just go to Canada, or the UK, but running away from a problem doesn't help change it!

sspielman
12-05-2007, 12:28 PM