PDA

View Full Version : OT: Any Audiophiles....old Marantz

ti_boi
11-27-2007, 08:36 AM
OK so the I picked up a 'Quad' 4240 circa 1977 from eBay....I'll run down the 'test' as it is new to me....
Phono channel: Hosed....distorted and nasty.
CD-4 Nice, not perfect.....
Tape Channel: Outstanding....
Tuner....picks up and holds pretty well (using BIC Beam Box)...needs adjustment as it won't go to 88 on the dial...stops about 1/4" before it....

No tuner beacon light, but the rest of the bulbs seem OK....Have not plugged in Quad adapter yet though it looks clean....

And finally DOLBY sounds a little muddy and distorted to me....but I am not sure I ever liked DOLBY. So....as this is a 'new to me' receiver.....the performance from the working inputs sounds good enough for me to want to listen to it into the wee hours. Incredibly musical....wonderful...addictive...I listen to Branford....Knopfler....and Miles so far with just fantastic results!

....as I am a newbie who knows nothing about how these work, anyone experienced want to venture why the other inputs sound so terrible? But the one or two sound incredible???

Thanks!

Kurt
11-27-2007, 09:37 AM
OK so the I picked up a 'Quad' 4240 circa 1977 from eBay....I'll run down the 'test' as it is new to me....
Tuner....picks up and holds pretty well (using BIC Beam Box)...needs adjustment as it won't go to 88 on the dial...stops about 1/4" before it....

No tuner beacon light, but the rest of the bulbs seem OK....Have not plugged in Quad adapter yet though it looks clean....

And finally DOLBY sounds a little muddy and distorted to me....but I am not sure I ever liked DOLBY. So....as this is a 'new to me' receiver.....the performance from the working inputs sounds good enough for me to want to listen to it into the wee hours. Incredibly musical....wonderful...addictive...I listen to Branford....Knopfler....and Miles so far with just fantastic results!