PDA

View Full Version : Map Software??

Big Jim
07-26-2004, 08:01 PM
Does anyone use software for creating maps of rides they may lead or make available for their cycling club? If yes, what does the software offer? Does it measure distance etc?
Thanks in advance.

pale scotsman
07-26-2004, 09:02 PM
In a past life when I was a GIS analyst I used MapInfo, a company which is based out of Troy, NY. I used it mainly for ATB trails and roads that don't show up on local maps. I'd use their base maps and 1:24,000 topo maps and whatever aerial photos I could find. You'd be surprised at what's not on the digital topo maps. Even the ones you get from DeLorme, Garmin, etc.. The maps around here have not been updated in 20 or more years due to a majority of privately owned land. So you've gotta improvise.

If you are closer to a big city or a somewhat "forward" type state you may be in luck. The terraserver has good photos in certain areas and the gisdatadepot has tons of stuff that used to be free believe it or not.

So in short depending on where you are you may be able to get by with one of the Delorme type map systems. If the maps are geo-referenced you'll have no problem figuring out distances and your club will think you are the man.

:beer: :beer: :beer:

David Berry
07-26-2004, 09:42 PM
Hi Jim
I use Topo USA by Delorme. It has its quirks, mainly that the interface takes a while to get used to, but once you do that, it produces nice maps, and will produce an elevation profile of the route. It can save to a file (BMP) of which I then past in a word document and produce a PDF to send to our riders. My rides are usually 80-100 miles sometimes with climbing, so I like to let everyone know beforehand what they are getting into.