PDA

View Full Version : HC cross advice requested

bruce-e-boy
07-23-2004, 04:05 AM
I have purchased a second hand HC cross with fork and am looking forward to getting it it built up. It's in very good condition. But I am no expert in componentry and would much appreciate some advice.

Projected use is threefold. First, as a cool year round commuter over mixed London terrain 45 mins each way. Second, some weekend warrior fairly light mixed trail use. Third, and with some skinny road tyres fitted, as a day road ride over very hilly terrain. In other words, and subject only to a tyre change, pretty well everything if possible. Asking a lot I know. Maybe too much!

I have no real idea how to go re brake system, the whole of the drive train, gearing, and wheelset.

I don't have an over-tight budget, but would always buy chorus before record, if you see what I mean. I like nice kit, even though I don't "need" it, but I also like value for money.

Am based in London, where everything costs a fortune. I could probably bring it over to the US for a long weekend, have it built up there, and the savings would pay for the trip.

Any advice much appreciated.

Bruce

Bruce K
07-23-2004, 04:53 AM
A very cool website for cross stuff is www.cyclocrossworld.com

They are a site devoted 100% to cyclocross.

The owner also owns a local shop north of Boston in Hamilton, MA called Bay Road Bikes.

He has been known to ship to Europe. They also have a telephone number listed on the site, but the person you really want to talk to is not always there. The guy who can help you the most is named Stu Thorne. The telephone number at Bay Road Bikes is (US code) + 978-468-1301. Their hours are 10:00AM - 6:00PM daily, until 8:00PM Thursdays and noon - 4:00PM on SUnday.

Good luck,

BK

Andreu
07-23-2004, 05:49 AM
Hi,