PDA

View Full Version : OT: Lipitor

Stealth
11-06-2007, 03:59 PM
Doc wants me back on but I am skeptical even though it lowered my numbers. Is it really a necessary evil or am I just lining the drug companies pockets and I will find out in the future that it was really bad for me?

Bud_E
11-06-2007, 04:06 PM
I'm no doctor and I'm not on Lipitor but it seems like every few months there's another article in the newspapers about unintended beneficial side effects of statin drugs and I haven't heard or read about much downside.

Ray
11-06-2007, 04:34 PM
I'm no doctor and I'm not on Lipitor but it seems like every few months there's another article in the newspapers about unintended beneficial side effects of statin drugs and I haven't heard or read about much downside.
I'd say if you can handle it, take it. As Bud noted, all sorts of possible benefits. I can't take statins - not sure why but they feel like poison to me. Make my whole body hurt. A LOT. But my brother has been taking Lipitor for many years with no problems at all and much better cholesterol numbers. Maybe someday they'll decide it doesn't really do much good, but unless it actually does some harm, go for it.

-Ray

Frank
11-06-2007, 04:48 PM
but made my arms and upper chest ache like I had been beaten. I noticed even using a screwdriver I would get hand cramps even if it was a pretty small job. My arms and chest also would feel like they were asleep, noticed most when in bed or in the recliner.

After mentioning this to the doctor several times, he said some folks do have side effects. I stopped taking Lipitor and within a week those symptoms went away. He prescribed a different anti-cholesterol drug and I will start taking it next week.

rnhood
11-06-2007, 04:53 PM
You don't need those hip drugs. Just take Niacin and, get your weight and diet in order.

DukeHorn
11-06-2007, 05:14 PM