PDA

View Full Version : Raising the lactate threshold

Floyd Dakil
11-06-2007, 01:08 PM
What duration do you guys use for lactate threshold workouts? I find that about 60 minutes works for me. Coming from a runner's background, I was used to doing tempo runs for 25 minutes (at about 10 secs/mile slower than 10k race pace). This workout was popularized in the late 60s/early 70s by running guru Jack Daniels. It's now a bread-and-butter workout for just about any serious runner.

I've been cycling for four years, but I'm still wondering if there's a standard duration for training at one's lactate threshold? I have been using one hour, which initially seemed like it would be too long, since runners use 25 minutes. But I can sustain a comparable effort on a bike for one hour; after that my legs are burning.

regularguy412
11-06-2007, 01:49 PM
I think it's better to do a series of intervals - at , or slipping slightly above, your normal LT. For example, I like to do a series of 3 minute 'on', 2 minute 'off' intervals, during which my heart rate rises to just above my LT during the last minute of the 'on' phase. The 2 minute phase provides incomplete recovery -- this part is essential in raising the threshold. Early in the season, around mid-February, I will start doing these once or twice per week -- with at least one day of 'junk mileage' in between. I'll start with 3 sets of '3 on, 2 off' and work up to about 8 or 9 sets. When you combine 9, 5 minute sets with the warm up and cool down, you get an hour of work. That's usually enough for me. By the time I get up to where I can do 9 in a row, it's late March and time to go outside and work on improving base miles ( which I hope haven't totally disappeared by riding only 4 days per week since November).

I prefer to do structured workouts indoors on the trainer. Then I can go outside and put the improved LT into use in longer, time trial-type rides.

Mike in AR

swoop
11-06-2007, 01:52 PM