PDA

View Full Version : Question for fixed riders, esp. Fixed

hansolo758
11-02-2007, 07:00 PM
I ask your indulgence...I'm new to fixed gear riding. Are there ever times when you're going downhill that you unclip, let the pedals spin free, and coast? If so, where do you put your feet -- are they splayed out from the bike on either side? I unclipped today on a downhill but for the life of me, I couldn't find anyplace to put my feet. I tried resting mine on the chainstay but couldn't avoid the pedals (fortunately, I didn't wipe out). Keeping them splayed out on either side looks, well, um...like something a man my age shouldn't do. I unclipped because I was pedalling so fast I was bobbing up and down on the seat. I'm sure it will get better with time but need some advice. Thanks for your help.

I love fixed gear riding, BTW, and wish I had gotten into it earlier. The connection with the road is like I had in my youth when I drove cars with manual transmission and rack-and-pinion steering.

Fixed
11-02-2007, 07:09 PM
bro i live in fla and ride a 53 x17 but if i were you and i had to unclip fork crown for feet but i don't do it
fixed = freedom imho
cheers :beer:
11.4 is way smarter than i am about all things fixed he will give you a good ans.
I unclipped because I was pedalling so fast I was bobbing up and down
bro i think that will go away in time imho

Ti Designs
11-02-2007, 07:13 PM
I ask your indulgence...I'm new to fixed gear riding. Are there ever times when you're going downhill that you unclip, let the pedals spin free, and coast?

No.

DarrenCT
11-02-2007, 07:15 PM
No.

i've never ridden a fixed however unclipping does seem like a bad idea :)

regularguy412
11-02-2007, 07:16 PM