PDA

View Full Version : Is there a disconnect between flats riding and climbing ability?

Sandy
09-20-2007, 07:39 PM
After a complete layoff from cycling for 4 months, I started riding again. At the latter part of June, I decided to try to improve my cycling, especially climbing. I have lost 30 of the 40 or so that I will lose.

I feel that I am stronger, am able to ride the flats better, and have gained some endurance in the approximate 3 month time frame. I know that I expect too much too soon, but I am disappointed and discouraged with my hill climbing improvement. Although I am a little better in climbing, with the weight loss that has occurred, I would think that I should have improved more. I seem to climb substantially better on some hills, but I think that I do no better than before on the longer steeper hills.

Is there simply a disconnect between hill climbing ability and flats riding? Do some people really simply do better in hill climbing or better in flats riding because of physical characteristics of the person, or is it technique, pedal stroke, muscle fiber, in the brain, inability to efficiently climb,.....?

In other words do I still suck at hill climbing because that is simply my biggest weakness in cycling, or can this weakness be improved to be more congruent with my flats riding (and sprinting) ability. The latter two are mediocre at best , but certainly better than my climbing ability.

I guess an easy way to say it, are you born to climb or can you learn to climb?

Thanks for any input!!

Soaring Sandy

fstrthnu
09-20-2007, 07:51 PM
Sandy,

To become a better climber you must climb. Climbing is a skill.

coylifut
09-20-2007, 07:52 PM
yes. look at Robbie McCewen. he's tiny like a climber, but sprints like a monster.

FATBOY
09-20-2007, 07:55 PM