PDA

View Full Version : OT: Standardized Testing in the Circus

Dave B
09-18-2007, 06:34 AM
Soooooo, I am in my second day of standardized testing (think 5th grade) and every year around this time I look out and see young people unknowingly messing with their future.

As a teacher I think it is my job to try and help each kid. Yeah contrary to President Moron's beliefs some kids just will not become the bright shining star he is. :rolleyes:

I try...try I say...to help each kid understand the material we are covering as best as i possibly can all year long except for this week. My job requires me to adapt work, modify tests, and give kids who work incredibly hard the benefit of doubt. Yes I have given kids grades they did not earn. I had a kid tell me that his dad would beat him if he did not get an A in all of his classes. One midterm we actually saw he was telling the truth. So yeah I busted my butt for the next few weeks and gave the kid an A until he was earning it himself. End of the year he gave me a huge hug with tears and said thank you.

I get to teach the brightest and dumbest kids in the same class and am expected to have both types master the information. I work inthe richest school district in the state (my opinion, but probably true) and I still have to fight for kids who cannot afford to participate.

YET....I have to sit at my desk for the rest of today and this week with out answering one question or allowing a 10/11 year old to get up to use the potty or blow his/her nose because the state says it would invalidate the test.

I do not have a better answer yet for how to assess kids, but I can tell you that the method we have and no child left behind is the worst!

For those of you who do pray, sendone out for the kids of today who are suffereing from zero tolerance.

If we had more tolerance for things in this world, maybe we would have a better place to leave to our kiddos.