PDA

View Full Version : epic ride or just good stories

Fixed
09-10-2007, 08:35 AM
bro chrisroph 's ride story was really cool he has been riding for many years and i know a lot of you cats have too . so lets hear some tales of the road from some of you old timers .. i admire you cats who can keep the fire goin some of you cats have been riding for 30+ years and that is cool imho
cheers

bro you cats started on 10 speed and your back on 10 speed

Len J
09-10-2007, 09:44 AM
bro chrisroph 's ride story was really cool he has been riding for many years and i know a lot of you cats have too . so lets hear some tales of the road from some of you old timers .. i admire you cats who can keep the fire goin some of you cats have been riding for 30+ years and that is cool imho
cheers

bro you cats started on 10 speed and your back on 10 speed

in 1973, I graduated from HS and needed to get down the shore for senior week......but I had no car, had to work well past when all my friends were leaving for the shore so the only choice I had was my Schwinn varsity (a tank POS but it was all I had).

So I get up early in the AM........put on a pair of shorts and a tee shirt, pack a backpack, get on the bike and ride it to the old Chester/Bridgeport ferry, about 20 miles away. Toe clips and sneakers round out the outfit.

I buy a map on the ferry and plot my route while we are going across the Delaware river as I watch the sun rise. (Planning, we don't need no stinkin' planning!)

I have no idea how long it took or how fast I went. I do remember it was hot & humid & I took several wrong turns. I also remember that when I got to Ocean City NJ, I rode 3 times around the island to make sure I hit the 100 miles. I also remember how it felt to have not only done it but also the looks on peoples faces when they heard I did.

The beer when I arrived may have been the most satisfying drink I have ever had.

Longest ride prior to that had been about 25 miles.......ain't youth great!