PDA

View Full Version : Not that far but far for me

tab123
09-04-2007, 08:32 PM
Recognizing it is nothing compared to the PBP stories on the forum, I rode 61 miles yesteday, which is my longest ride yet. I also rode 51 miles on Saturday and a SLOW 20-mile recovery ride on Sunday. Not too bad for a woman in her mid-40s.

After at least 10 years without touching a bike, I started riding again about 2 years ago. I started with a hybrid, then went to a cross bike, and now have a Serotta Legend Ti (my baby). Cycling has enabled me to feel the joy in athletics that I last felt in my early 20s (when I stopped playing soccer due to injuries and growing older and all the pressures that come with that).

The forum has been a great source of inspiration so thank you to all of you.

I am looking forward to completing my first century - if not in 2007, then in 2008!

jcmuellner
09-04-2007, 08:35 PM
Sometimes my favorite rides are those that go just a few miles around town, riding places I might not usually visit and just feeling the sheer joy of gliding quietly along.

Keep riding, it only gets better with time...

Jon

imp25rs
09-04-2007, 08:35 PM
That is good to hear. I made it 55 miles Saturday after taking 10 years off and riding again for 3 months. I didn't have the energy for a recovery ride.

Fixed
09-04-2007, 08:40 PM
Sometimes my favorite rides are those that go just a few miles around town, riding places I might not usually visit and just feeling the sheer joy of gliding quietly along.

Jon
+1
good job make goals (dreams) they can come true imho
cheers :beer:

Pete Serotta
09-04-2007, 08:41 PM
Those rides you did are "outstanding". You have come a long way and are an inspiration to all other riders. :no: do not sell yourself short.

Glad you are enjoying the FORUM = there are lots of wonderful people on here. Additionally the vast majority are only an e-mail away for advice, friendship, or even a glass of wine (Tom where is that bottle you owe me)