PDA

View Full Version : Shoulder/Neck Pain

SayHey
09-01-2007, 02:08 AM
I'm looking from some suggestions on an issue I've had for a couple of years now -- shoulder/neck pain when riding. I know there's a tremendous amount of knowledge on this forum (likely dealing with this issue).

I don't know the names of different muscle groups, but the picture below shows where I get the discomfort (in my upper left shoulder near the base of my neck). My typical long weekly ride is about 55 - 60 miles, although the discomfort starts on my shorter rides after 10 miles or so. The pain never becomes so heavy that I say I've got to stop riding, but it's there and takes away from the pleasure of riding. Interestingly, the discomfort diminishes significantly when I'm off the bike for about 5 minutes.

I've been riding for over 20 years and in the past have done many longish rides (centuries, a few doubles, etc.). I'm interested in taking longer rides again and doing some tours, but I'd like to address this issue to make it more fun.

A few other pieces of information that might be useful ... I ride a number of different bikes (Serotta, Atlantis, Mtn Bike, and a road tandem). They all have positions that differ somewhat and it doesn't seem to make much difference. The Serotta has about 3 - 4 cm of drop, whereas my Atlantis has 0 - 1 cm but is a little more stretched out. (Those are the two bikes I've been on the most in the last 6 - 8 months).

I'm conscious of keeping my grip relaxed and elbows bent to avoid creating tension in my shoulder area. I used to sleep on my stomach, but stopped that about 7 months ago because I heard that could be a cause. It's possible that I have some built up shoulder/neck tension and no matter what bike I'm on, it gets triggered.