PDA

View Full Version : OT: I feel your pain...

Kevan
08-12-2007, 11:15 AM
To any of you who have experienced losing your mother, I now understand just how painful the experience can be. I'm down here in Palm Coast Fl right now dealing with the recent death of my own mom. I hope no one takes exception with my isolating a mother's death as more devastating than any other family member's, but I'm new to this and I'm not doing as well as I had hoped I could manage it. I never imagined the pain could be this bad. At the saddest moments, usually before and just after bedtime, when I stare up at the ceiling, I imagine all the other human beings who have had to face the death of a parent, sibling or child. The pain has forever transformed me.

I'm working out this situation with my sister and father and we have been terrific support for one another. The rest of the family at large is about to descend upon us in the next couple of days. In the meantime, I keep up with my stupid jokes, annoy my sister in a brotherly way, and give my dad the shoulder he has always given me.

Sorry for the downer thread, but you folk are part of that family of mine.

Ray
08-12-2007, 11:36 AM
Very very very sorry, Kevan. As hard as it is, it MIGHT help to know that lots and lots of people have been through it and it always hurts a lot, no matter how 'prepared' you think you are for it. Time helps - not much else does. Just be there for your family and let them be there for you and you'll get through it. In time, you'll mostly stop thinking about the difficult end of her life and get back to spending time remembering the good times and that helps too. But it takes a while.

In the meantime, hang in there and know your forum pals are with you in spirit.

-Ray

soulspinner
08-12-2007, 11:41 AM
Happened to me. Hang in man. Lots of memories will come over you in time. God bless....so sorry for your loss.

Fixed
08-12-2007, 12:01 PM