PDA

View Full Version : Chain recommendations

cowboys
08-01-2007, 04:58 PM
I have a campy record groupo and wanted opinions on what quick connect/disconnect chain is recommended by serotta owners. thanks

Bill Bove
08-01-2007, 05:05 PM
I use a Sram PC 1090R, one note, Sram recomends that you NOT reuse the connecting link, that you replace it whenever you break the chain. I have not had this issue arise as I clean my chain on the bike. I did ask them how many quick links you could use on a chain and they said as many as you want, they just didn't want you to open and close one link.

cleavel
08-01-2007, 05:08 PM
Hi,

I have been using Wipperman (stainless and "regular") since 2003 and I've been very happen with them. I use Wipperman on all of my road bikes.

cowboys
08-01-2007, 05:09 PM
I am a little confused by this.....are you saying that you have to replace the conncecting link each time it is opended? what would be the use of this?
Also, why do you have a quick disconnect link if you dont use it to take the chain off when you clean it??? thanks

Bill Bove
08-01-2007, 05:20 PM
Yes and I'm lazy.

Sram wants you to buy a new link for four bucks each time you open the chain, my guess is so the connecting link isn't overstressed and fails.

I use the link because it comes with the chain, wich I like and is cheaper than Campy's. I don't take the chain off to clean it because I don't think you have too. A rag soaked in solvent works well enough for me. Some people prefer one of those chain cleaner contraptions, I think they're messy, and some take it off and soak it. It all works, my way works for me.

abqhudson
08-01-2007, 07:41 PM
I really like the KMC X10SL chain on my campy drivetrain. Quiet and smooth - wears well. Reusable quick link makes cleaning a snap.

Jim

hypnos
08-01-2007, 08:59 PM