PDA

View Full Version : Road Riding in Winston-Salem, NC Area??

climbgdh
08-01-2007, 09:37 AM
Hi Folks;

I have an opportunity to go with my wife to Winston-Salem, NC for 5 days in mid September while she is on a conference. Anyone here know what the road riding is like in that area? Looking for rides in the 60-90 mile range. Any thoughts appreciated. Thanks.

Serotta PETE
08-01-2007, 09:55 AM
Called the Triple Hump around Winston Salem,,,Hills and nice riding....

PETE

Kines
08-01-2007, 09:55 AM
I've been riding out of Winston-Salem for over 10 years now, and I know every ridable road in this area like the back of my hand. Depending on where you are coming from, you are in for a treat. We've got some great climbs with steep grades (Google Pilot Mountain State Park and Hanging Rock S.P.), rolling routes, "destination" routes, and if you're willing to get in the car for a bit, you can do the Blue Ridge Parkway. The only thing we don't have is flat rides, but we do have plenty of routes in your 60-90 mile range with no challenging climbs. Let me know which one sounds best and I'll point the way for you. KN.

Kines
08-01-2007, 10:19 AM
yeah, the "triple hump" is Pilot, Sauratown, and Hanging Rock. I just did it yesterday. It's a great ride, but from W-S it's over 90 miles, and has lots of climbing. Here's a photo I found on the internet of the three humps (photo taken from Hanging Rock looking at Sauratown, then Pilot). This is making me want to go for a ride.

climbgdh
08-01-2007, 10:45 AM