PDA

View Full Version : InLineSkating

Too Tall
06-22-2004, 10:16 AM
Anyone here speed skate outdoors? Distance?

I am a TOTAL newbie and am considering adding this to my quiver. Actually, all I do is read bicycle catalogues and ride my bike so this would be three things I will do ;)

I'll most likely need custom boots, size 15 (Euro 50).

I'd really love to get skillful enough to commute to work 1 day a week...about 10 miles each way.

No clue as to the right configuration or makers for what I have in mind. Recommendations?

Marron
06-22-2004, 11:06 AM
August through February. I use it as a cross training option and prep for skiing. As to equipment, it's just like cycling; you can spend $100 for a perfectly servicable pair of skates or you can spend $2,000 on a race kit with custom carbon boots (yup), frames, fancy wheels and bearing$.

If you are a complete novice and would like to use it as a commuting option I would suggest that jumping right to speed skates is probably not going to provide the most fun. There is a fairly steep learning curve to effectively using speed skates that is not aided by hills, traffic, bad road surface etc.. Aside from all that, speed skates are not usually that comfortable without putting in many miles to toughen your feet and ankles. What I would suggest is seeking out one of the various fittness skates on the market. They match a comfortable boot with a slightly longer frame either in a 4 or 5 wheel configuration that is designed to cover some distance without the issues I mentioned above.