PDA

View Full Version : Coaching?

mike p
06-23-2007, 10:26 AM
Who here has hired a coach? Did it help? Was it worth the cost? For the first time I'm considering hiring a coach. I just feel I need some imput to up my game. I spoke with Too Tall and swoop to get some advice. Whats your experience? Any thoughts.

Mike

FlaRider
06-23-2007, 12:18 PM
I've been racing for about 3 years (first bike racing, then triathlon) and honestly couldn't even imagine training without input from my coach. I get daily workouts as well as analysis of my power files. Coaching takes the guesswork out of the training process and the coach provides objectivity that is invaluable. PM me if you have any further questions.

swoop
06-23-2007, 07:31 PM
it's the only way to get seriously fast.
atmo.

Climb01742
06-24-2007, 05:27 AM
agree. a coach can really help you improve. i can't imagine having done MW without one. that said, finding one you_really_synch up with is a challenge. i was mostly satisfied with my cycle-smart coach. the workouts he gave me were great. i improved a lot. but he and i never quite gelled, communication was a challenge (for which i take part of the responsibility.) the ideal situation, i think, is to find a coach you can occasionally ride with. but coaching via the web can work, just not ideal.

mike p
06-24-2007, 09:12 AM
Anyone that has a coach, can you say it took me from cat5 to cat3 in one season? Or cut 5 min. of my TT? I'm just trying to get an Idea of results to be expected. Some coaching is pretty pricey.

Thanks
Mike

swoop
06-24-2007, 03:15 PM
its better to think of it this way. one is a room in the dark and one is a room with a light on. you have to decide what room you're better able to live in until you find the switches on your own.
a coach just shows you the light. what you do with it is up to you.

keno
06-25-2007, 05:52 AM