PDA

View Full Version : Saddle Sores - YOW!

Ray
06-12-2007, 12:42 PM
I've been riding quite a lot for about 11-12 years now and have never, it turns out, had a saddle sore. I've had mild chafing after really long rides, but a bit of ointment on it overnight was all it took to be fine by riding time the next day. I figured all of the rest of you were wimps, complaining about your saddle sores. I hereby apologize for those feelings of scorn. I found a painful little hard lump next to and slightly toward the back of the 'taint the other night. Didn't know what it was, but MAN did it hurt to any sort of touch (like sitting on it, fer example).

No improvement yesterday, so I went to the doc today, not knowing what it was (I've never had hemorrhoids or a hernia either, so I didn't know if this could be one of those things). The doc said, yep, badly infected hair follicle (the origin of most saddle sores I guess) and put me on systemic antibiotics straight away. Not sure how long I'm going to have to be off the bike, but at the moment, I don't even WANT to ride, which is a strange feeling for me.

What's your experience with this type of thing? Am I looking at more than a week or so off the bike?

-Ray

davidlee
06-12-2007, 12:51 PM
You should have requested a Kenalog injection and the thing would be gone immediately.. Might fail a drug test though...

Ginger
06-12-2007, 12:59 PM
I had one haunt me for two seasons until my doc sliced it open and cauterized so I wouldn't have a return issue. A bit of lazer hair removal and I've not had a problem since. I wouldn't have gone on the antibiotics either, that messes up your whole system. It has to heal the whole way, or you're just going to re-spread the infection. I was off the bike 10 days. What did your doc say?

To prevent return (and I found that once I had one, until I got the habits down, more showed up...)

Hints and tips:

Don't cook in your shorts. If you're not riding, get them off asap