PDA

View Full Version : OT: When to retire

deluz
04-11-2023, 04:44 PM
I am an electrical engineer and have been working full time for 45 years.
I will be 66 in July. There have many periods of time where I did not enjoy my work and it was extremely stressful but had to stay with it to pay the bills. But things changed the past few years. Due to the pandemic I have been working from home full time. Prior to that I was always told no you cannot work from home even one day a week. Also my direct supervisor who I did not get along with was fired and my new supervisor is great. So for the first time in a long time I am enjoying my work. I have also gotten two salary increases in the past few years after being stuck at the same salary for over 10 years. So for those reasons I am in no hurry to retire. On the other hand, most people I know my age have retired and it seems that that they like it. Another issue is that I have had periods of debilitating fatigue. I think this could be due to medical conditions but also work stress. I am in one of those periods right now and cannot even ride my bike. I have been on a very stressful project at work since the end of last year but hope it will be over in another month.
I look at work as having positive and negative stresses and I am thinking retirement might help my fatigue issues. Another option would be to work part time. So I am looking to hear from those that have retired, has it improved your life in terms of stress, energy and overall happiness?

rnhood
04-11-2023, 05:00 PM
I too retired as an electrical engineer. At 66, I recommend retiring and working part time. Then phase that out after a couple years or so. I compliment you on working many years and contributing to our society. But the last thing you want to do is die a couple years after retiring. So move to part time then phase it out. There is no reason to try and stuff away money, only to die before you spend it. Remember, you want your last check to bounce.