PDA

View Full Version : Fully Integrated Bar & Stem, or not?

sheepdog84
11-17-2022, 09:45 AM
Hi All,

I'm speccing out my next go fast Road bike build, where I have the opportunity to go with a fully integrated Enve Bar / Stem, OR a more traditional Handlebar + Stem setup.

Since I'm a home mechanic, I've marked a few key differences that could make (or break) the decision to go fully integrated here:

Pros:

Fully integrated Looks quite good (imo)
This is going to be my best/top of the line bike - Fully integrated/futuristic look.
I don't care much about this, but it's theoretically more aero.
The fit is custom, so the bars will be in the exact right spot - Shouldn't need to adjust or experiment with stem length / bar width.

Cons:

Difficulty of install (internal cable routing)
Difficulty of travel - Most boxes are not made to accomidate an integrated front end
Replacing the fully integrated bar is much more expensive + time consuming.
Currently, a 6-8 month wait time from Enve for the fully integrated setup.

I've never done the fully integrated thing, so I'm just looking for feedback from people who've gone down this route, and then trying to decide for myself.

Any thoughts?

TIA!!

CampagnoloCOOL
11-22-2022, 08:35 AM
Make sure you have established all the measurement and fit parameters ...before you go integrated as well

Width , Reach , Drop , length , Angle / Rise ..ETC ..

Your head tube angle will effect all of these as well ..

harblhat
11-22-2022, 08:41 AM
Two more considerations: fit changes over time and bar angle.

I've improved my core strength over the years and have been able to get lower and a bit longer, and my fit has evolved over that time. All of my variables have changed: stem length, angle, and bar width. If my fit changes enough to a point where the integrated bar position is no longer comfortable or optimal, it's expensive and time consuming to change.