PDA

View Full Version : Michelin Pro Race 2 Durability

znfdl
05-08-2007, 07:41 AM
All:

I am deciding on a tire for my cross country ride and deciding between Michelin Pro Race 2 and Vredenstein Fortezza.

I used the Micheling Pro Race 2 on my Arizona Tour this spring and had a number of flats and one sidewall gashed over 800 miles. I was wondering what people's experiences have been with the Pro Race 2 with regards to durability.

I have been commuting on the Vredenstein Fortezzas and have had no problems.

What should I do? Oh and Tubbies are not part of the equation.

sc53
05-08-2007, 07:52 AM
I have been using the ProRace 2's on two bikes for at least two years now and have never even had a flat much less a problem with the tires themselves. I really like them--esp since I changed to the 25c fatboys.

Sandy
05-08-2007, 07:55 AM
What size tires are you using?

Sandy

znfdl
05-08-2007, 07:57 AM
700 x 23

Ray
05-08-2007, 08:18 AM
I've had pretty good luck with Pro Races or Pro Race 2s or whatever the current model is called in terms of overall wear. But they do seem to cut pretty easily. For a cross country trip, I'd probably go with what Michelin used to call the 'carbon' - not sure if its still sold under the same name. I've had a set on various bikes over the past five years and I can't seem to kill 'em. They're not quite as light as the Pro Races, but they feel pretty light and responsive. They handle very well and they're better in the wet than the higher end tires because they're made of some non-space age material that's pretty close to rubber. I'd also ride 25s, but thats just me.

-Ray

regularguy412
05-08-2007, 08:28 AM