PDA

View Full Version : OT: My sad news.

Skrawny
04-29-2007, 09:49 PM
I haven't been posting often lately. (I would not have expected anyone to notice -I don't post that often).

It is not because of any censorship or content issues...
My mother is dying. She is a 62 year old, healthy, non-smoker with metastatic lung cancer. One of the mets is in her hip and she is in a lot of pain. I know too much of what is to come because I am a physician. If we're lucky, she may see one more Christmass. I'm the only one out here with her.

I had plans to start racing my bike this year.
I joined a team and started training (and broke a thumb)
But because of what has been happening with my mom, I have not touched my bike in 5 weeks.

Although, I have not posted, this forum has been my only escape. I cannot ride my bike, but I can vicariously enjoy other's new bikes and satisfy some of my bike cravings by reading here. I learn about bikes here (so THAT'S what a "fastback" is...) and I enjoy the characters, eloquence, and knowledge. This forum means a lot to me.

I'm not sure why I have posted this. Some of my friends don't even know what's going on. I think maybe it is because of the long thread about some of our most vocifeous posters leaving. I think I felt that I had to reiterate how important this place is to me. Maybe I just had to get it off my chest. I don't know.
I lament that some of us may be leaving.

I won't.

-s

PS- Fixed, the irony has not escaped me.

e-RICHIE
04-29-2007, 10:00 PM
you take care skrawny-issimo.

we're all the same people, no matter where we
land, and we'll end up together ultimately atmo.

i wish you and yours all good things.

Kevan
04-29-2007, 10:02 PM