PDA

View Full Version : 6 feet 2, Size 48 shoe - what crank length?

tv_vt
04-25-2007, 01:44 PM
I seem to be going back and forth between 175's and larger cranks. Just wondering if forumites have any experience regarding changing cranklength and performance. One might feel more comfortable, but which one works better for speed, mainly on climbs?

Thanks,

T

David Kirk
04-25-2007, 02:37 PM
The is no one "correct length".

that said I think you'd benefit from going longer than the 175's.

I'd try 180s to start.

I'm 6'4' and have long legs for my height and I use 190's and love them.

Dave

jhcakilmer
04-25-2007, 03:00 PM
I'm no fitting expert, but I'd stick with the 175.

I'm 6'3" and I use 175, I would like to try 177, but there not easy to find.

Personally, I think unless your 6'6", that 175-180 would fit anyone fine. This is no preformance advantage, but some feel like it allows their legs to spin more freely.

The longer the crank arm the larger the circle, so your candence will decrease, as compared to shorter arms. Accelerations might not be as quick. Also, the longer crankarms accentuate the "dead spot".

Not a huge deal since going from 175 to 180 is only a 3% increase, I believe. But anything longer I personally think is overkill. There are several pros that are 6'3"....Boonen, Hincapie, Backstedt.....and they don't use custom crankset (to my knowledge).

Definitely is a personal preference, but as a person that has a lot of education in the sciences, and currently in medical school spinning seems easier on you joints/connective tissue, then mashing which is a tendency with longer cranks.

Just my laymans oppinion, maybe give them a try, and see how they feel

RPS
04-25-2007, 03:13 PM
I like Sheldon Brown’s Gain Ratio for estimating gearing, which takes crank-arm length into account.

If one spins a longer crank slower in RPM but with the same pedal speed, is one really mashing?

William
04-25-2007, 03:14 PM