PDA

View Full Version : Notice Two Recent Changes

weisan
06-04-2004, 11:20 AM
I realized two changes had happened recently to my riding experience. Before I begin, I MUST insist that I am not trying to brag about anything because it's REALLY nothing to brag about and I am doing this purely in the spirit of sharing and getting feedback. So, with the disclaimer out of the way, here's what I feel.

1) I can exert more power to the pedal now.

I started riding again about three years ago. Before that, I rode quite a bit as a teenager (never competitive, though) and then stopped completely for ten over years, got married, have kids etc. I am now 34 years old. I was at my peak fitness back in the Army days when I was 20 or 21 performing my national service and since then I have been searching for my old "form" or trying to prevent my weight from ballooning out of control :p.

Well, this year was a breakthrough year for me in a lot of ways. Finally, I am able to keep up with the fast groups without trying too hard (drafting, man, it's all about drafting...heee..heee ;) No, just kidding. I think after riding consistently through the winter, I have built a strong base. Another important change I made to my training routine which I thought has a huge impact too is that I don't ride every day anymore. I used to and that was bad because my body never got a chance to recover and rebuild muscle strength. Now, I will ride maybe once or twice in the week, and then do a long ride on Saturday. My weekly mileage hardly ever goes beyond 120 miles.