PDA

View Full Version : Dental floss?

Xyzzy
03-31-2007, 03:26 PM
I thought I'd share a little trick I "invented" for wrapping bars. I'm sure somebody, somewhere, has done this before, but I came up with it independently, so I get 1% of the credit.

:)

The problem:

I don't wear gloves. I like thin bar tape. I like to not feel the bits of packing tape under the bar tape. I can't stand having the cables get all wonky and start migrating around.

The solution:

Dental floss. A few hundred wraps and them cables ain't going anywhere. When you need to strip the bar just run a razor down the groove. I use about 8 feet of floss per side. I start from the shifter and really tighten in the cables, then wrap to the center and then back to the shifter again, overlapping wraps.

The unintended benefits:

Everything is minty fresh!

Interesting factoid from picture:

I wrapped using both grooves. I've never done it that way before. It certainly was a bit more difficult. We'll see how it works out in the end. It feels good on the bike so who knows?

Kevan
03-31-2007, 03:48 PM
for whipping the end of rope, so why not? Bravo!

LesMiner
03-31-2007, 03:52 PM
If you use Glide brand dental floss, its made from a Goretex fiber.

rwsaunders
03-31-2007, 04:59 PM
It looks like it would go with Bumble Bee Dave's zebra outfit. How about a photo for the gang, Dave?

BumbleBeeDave
03-31-2007, 09:15 PM
. . . but just this ONCE! :rolleyes:

BBD

AgilisMerlin
03-31-2007, 09:34 PM
bONDAGE aNYONE ? :D

dave thompson
03-31-2007, 09:54 PM
Looks like the Lilliputians got at your bars! :D

Louis
03-31-2007, 10:19 PM
'
There is one major issue with doing this:

Think of all that extra weight you've added ! :p
'

Xyzzy
03-31-2007, 10:25 PM
Back in the good old days when I was in the Army, we used to wait for a new Joe to go to sleep in his bunk and then we'd floss him to the bed.