PDA

View Full Version : Joys of Clipless Pedals...

cookieguy
05-30-2004, 10:23 PM
I'm new to clipless pedals.....it seems that most every time I clip out of one of my pedals at a stop light it ends up being up side down....Is there some way to make certain they stay right side up? I find trying to flip a small pedal over a bit of a pain (my old clips & straps...that is easy enough to do without looking)

If it matters...my pedals are Campy record.

Kevin
05-31-2004, 06:12 AM
I use double sided pedals. (Speedplays) That way I never have the problem of the pedal being upside down.

Kevin

dnovo
05-31-2004, 06:50 AM
Try a different brand of pedal. If you are used to Campy Record, the newer Shimano SPD-DLs are very much like them in general use, but far easier to clip in and out of, work far better, and 'hang' right, so when you go to clip back in, you don't need to flip them over. They just introduced the third tier down from DA, so the prices are getting lower all the time. I have switched over from my Looks to the Shimanos, and everyone else I have spoken to who has done the same finds them an improvement. The Campy Records are a Look-alike, so the transition should be easy. Dave N.

Peter
05-31-2004, 07:31 AM
I've discovered some pedals are easier to flip into position. Or rather, how they get into position more nearly matches what I'm accustomed to so I get the hang of it easier.

I discovered this just like you have, on my first pair of clipless pedals, Looks. I never did get the hang of them; they were too hard for me to clip in, and too often I would locate the underside of the pedal instead of the topside, and my foot would cumbersomely slip off.

I found Shimano road SPDs much more to my liking.

So keep practicing and you'll either get the hang of it or you might try a different pedal which may "click" (no pun intended) with the way your brain works.