PDA

View Full Version : Emergency Weight Loss: Help!

jeffg
02-22-2007, 03:07 PM
Ok, in a few days the task of starting a new job and finding a semi-permanent place to live will be all that separate me from the bike ... :crap:

So, I am carrying probably 20 extra pounds at the moment and slogged up Sierra in about 32 minutes yesterday. I didn't go all out, but could not have gone much faster in any event.

Problem: 206 mile DC with 20,000 feet of climbing in two months: I figure I need to lose at least 10-15 pounds by then and still train. Intensity of training does not need to be extreme since volume is much more critical here.

Ideas? I have never been this heavy before so I have no experience losing this kind of weight except via extreme food poisoning

Climb01742
02-22-2007, 03:19 PM
cut out all added sugar. if possible, cut out processed carbs. try 5 smaller meals instead of three bigger ones: small breakfast, snack @10:30/11, small lunch, snack @3:30/4, small dinner. with each meal or snack include some protein. eat carbs early in the day, as few as possible for dinner. eat protein and veggies/salad for dinner. drink mucho water, no sodas or fruit juices.

fiamme red
02-22-2007, 03:21 PM
TrimSpa. Endorsed by Anna Nicole Smith.

Ginger
02-22-2007, 03:50 PM
fitday.com

The easy way to count those calories (including those enjoyable, but empty wine calories...)

Get your rear back on the bike twice a day (short spin in the AM...say 1/2 hour on the trainer, then a regular training session in the evening...)

Those two things usually help me drop 10-20 lbs after I'm cleared for takeoff after surgeries.

Throw in a walk at lunch...

Kevan
02-22-2007, 04:08 PM
and for variety...

Spinach and broccoli.

Watch out even carrots have sugar.

Hey, good luck with that.

AgilisMerlin
02-22-2007, 04:39 PM