PDA

View Full Version : Fork trail question

thwart
02-21-2007, 03:03 PM
I've got a question for the bike geometry experts on the Forum.

I have the opportunity to buy a 50 mm trail Serotta F1 carbon fork to replace the somewhat generic Profile Design carbon fork that came stock on my Colorado III. I'm not sure about the trail measurement of that fork, but it probably is around 45 mm.

What would this do to the handling of my bike?

The more I read about this topic online, the more confused I am... :confused:

Thanks in advance for any help.

David Kirk
02-21-2007, 03:17 PM
Here's a good calculator.

Dave

http://www.kreuzotter.de/english/elenk.htm

fierte_poser
02-21-2007, 03:35 PM
I think you are using the term trail when you are really talking about rake. Rake is a measurement you can make on the fork alone. Trail is a measurement derived from the rake, the HTA, and the wheel diameter as is shown in the webpage that David posted.

I'm no expert, but I believe that changing to a fork with a larger rake (ie. 50 vs. 45) will 'quicken' the steering. The bike might become 'twitchy'. Someone correct me if I'm wrong!

Kent

thwart
02-21-2007, 04:10 PM
I think you are using the term trail when you are really talking about rake
Thank you. You can see how I am a bit confused about all this :crap:

Intuitively, it would seem that increasing the rake would give you an effectively longer wheelbase, and less twitchy steering...

So much for intuition.

cadence90
02-21-2007, 04:10 PM
I've got a question for the bike geometry experts on the Forum.

I have the opportunity to buy a 50 mm trail Serotta F1 carbon fork to replace the somewhat generic Profile Design carbon fork that came stock on my Colorado III. I'm not sure about the trail measurement of that fork, but it probably is around 45 mm.

What would this do to the handling of my bike?

The more I read about this topic online, the more confused I am... :confused:

Thanks in advance for any help.