PDA

View Full Version : How do you stretch your IT band?

Louis
02-15-2007, 07:32 PM
Today I started a series of visits to the Physical Therapist to hopefully have them show / teach me some good strengthening and stretching exercises to finally put my darn left patellar tendinosis problems away for good. (I've been battling this problem for the last four years.)

One thing he noticed is that both my IT bands are very tight. He showed me one stretch which involves crossing your legs while standing and shifting your hip sideways. I felt a bit of a stretch, but not a whole heck of a lot.

I'm wondering if there are other ways of doing this.

Thanks.
Louis

swoop
02-15-2007, 07:39 PM
foam roller or tennis balls. more later.. gotta go. ps.. it hurts.

old_school
02-15-2007, 07:45 PM
foam roller (http://optp.com/media/Document_126.pdf)

yup, it hurts

Ginger
02-15-2007, 07:48 PM
How long has that thing been tight? You don't want to feel a lot of stretch. Really...Oh...make sure you're standing straight upright...don't lean forward, you'll find a better stretch...The standing stretch doesn't work well for me because of my knee and hip issues.

I've used all of the following:
http://www.nismat.org/ptcor/itb_stretch/

However, the second self stretch, where he's laying down, and the third where he's seated work best for me.

Although, keep in mind you want to stretch your ITB without involving your patella too much. The second and the fourth are what they were doing with me when I had patellar tendinitis in both knees.

The Ober stretch is actually quite good, but you need a second person and you really have to be careful with the positioning of the back and hips...

No...I'm not a physical therapist...I've just been in physical therapy for years. :(

Ditto on the foam roller and tennis ball advice for release...yes...it hurts a lot if you do it right.

jhcakilmer
02-15-2007, 07:50 PM
Are you sure it's not your Gluteus medius muscle strength that is the issue?