PDA

View Full Version : worn out chain symptoms?

eddief
02-08-2007, 02:33 PM
i trade bikes in and out so often over the last five years that even though i ride quite a bit, don't think or know i've ever worn out a chain...and i'm a pretty good mechanic.

on my OCR-C, i can't get the the rear derailleur tuned so it does not do funny skips up and down on the two smallest of the 9 cogs.

is this one of the signs of a worn out chain?

stevep
02-08-2007, 03:11 PM
sounds like a cable replacement to me.

or, make it simple and just get a new bike.

eddief
02-08-2007, 03:56 PM
might be the under bb cable guide not smooth or the path of the cable from there to the chain stay guide looks a little less than a perfect straight shot.

when the rain stops i'll put it in the stand and check them out.

not sure what a new cable could do to fix it.

AgilisMerlin
02-08-2007, 04:05 PM
check the cable near rear der. for corrosion, jmo

amerlin

coylifut
02-08-2007, 04:56 PM
i trade bikes in and out so often over the last five years that even though i ride quite a bit, don't think or know i've ever worn out a chain...and i'm a pretty good mechanic.

on my OCR-C, i can't get the the rear derailleur tuned so it does not do funny skips up and down on the two smallest of the 9 cogs.

In my experience, usually when the chain is worn it skips in the middle of the cogset. Replace the cable and housing. If that doesn't work, go for the chain. That way you are replacing things in order of expense. Oh, and check to see that the lock ring is adequately tight.

pdxmech13
02-08-2007, 10:57 PM
buy a chain checker

nothing shifts like a new chain

i replace my chain every 1000

Larry
02-09-2007, 06:46 AM

Check the alignment and straightness of the rear derailleur hanger.
Occasionally, it can become slightly bent, but hopefully it can be gently straightened. There is a way this is checked with the rear wheel spinning slowly.