PDA

View Full Version : OT: The Paceline “Gardening” Thread

XXtwindad
09-13-2020, 03:37 PM
Recently read this in the NYT: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nytimes.com/2020/09/10/opinion/coronavirus-home-improvement.amp.html

Whatever the opposite of a “green thumb” is ... that’s what I have. But I want a fun and active learning project I can do with my daughters. We live in the Oakland Hills, where it’s usually fairly warm (and occasionally smoky). I’ve attached pictures of the enclosed deck, so probably deer proof. I’m not sure about other critters.

Any experienced gardeners here who can give me some advice? Herbs, annuals, etc. Basically something a complete novice can enjoy doing with his daughters. Also, any advice on planter boxes etc would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. for inspirational purposes, I’d love to see what the Paceline Community has done with their gardens. Pics!

OtayBW
09-13-2020, 04:02 PM
This has gotten to take up entirely too muchof my time.....

Hilltopperny
09-13-2020, 04:14 PM
I typically build my garden boxes out of reclaimed barn wood or rough cut lumber. Not always the prettiest, but cheap and efficient. This year we planted some tomatoes, cabbage and broccoli in them. My two year old son likes to help water them with the garden hose.

Tomatoes, cabbage and broccoli are pretty hardy plants and really only need water and sunlight. Just be sure to space them out properly and not to overcrowd them and you will get to harvest plenty. We also grew micro greens and lettuce which will regenerate if you clip them and do not allow them to go to seed. Seeing as you have a raised deck that will keep most critters away. We had some of our crops eaten by ground hogs and our chickens have been poaching some of our grape tomatoes.