PDA

View Full Version : Changing position as I age.

steelbikerider
09-12-2020, 07:32 PM
I just realized today that in the last 10 years I have moved my saddle forward almost 2 cm and decreased 1 cm in stem length on my custom steel frame of 20 years. My HB drop to the top of the bars hasn't changed and I am able to match my position on my carbon bike down to the mm. I have been racing and riding for 40+ years so my position is pretty dialed in and I have no fit or physiological issues to work around.
I'm considering a new custom road bike so I'm wondering what changes I should be considering to for my next bike to last 20 years if I do. I'm 61 now. My stems only have 5 - 10mm of spacers under them and I ride standard race bike geometry. I don't plan on gravel, still ride a century occasionally and use 25 - 28mm tires. I figure that I may need a head tube extension of a cm or 2 and maybe 1/2 - 1cm shorter top tube. I know that I will be discussing all of this with the builder( 2 years older than me and still riding) but I wanted some input from some of y'all in similar circumstances.

Fixed
09-12-2020, 07:49 PM
Yes old age is a bitch
Yoga may help some

Charles M
09-12-2020, 08:00 PM
Go see a QUALIFIED fitter...
You're not dialed into the same position... And nobody worth listening to would try to advise you on what to "look for"....

Ralph
09-12-2020, 08:25 PM
Just a guess.....but I would say maybe you moved your seat forward because you needed a shorter reach....as you aged. When you should have used a shorter stem. Get your position over the BB correct, and get correct stem for your body, and you may not need to change drop (yet). That's what my fitter told me anyway.....at about age 70. It helped with my old man's butt also.

Ken Robb
09-12-2020, 08:35 PM