PDA

View Full Version : ebay question - returns and refunds

steelbikerider
09-03-2020, 05:49 PM
I'm still a newb on ebay as I clean out my stash of old parts so I have a question.
I listed an 8 speed DA cog and posted the wrong picture with it. I explained to the buyer the problem (15t splined cog but pic of 13t threaded cog) and asked if he wanted to cancel or what. He said send the 15t cog but was expecting it to be threaded even though I told him it was splined. I went ahead and gave him a full refund but do I also need to send him return postage if i ask him to return the cog? I realize its only a $15 transaction but I am about to list some more expensive components.

flying
09-03-2020, 05:51 PM
It is all predetermined by how you list it...

Meaning free returns or buyer pays return ship etc etc

And yes buyer should always return item first then refund occurs

"Most" returns are at buyers expense unless seller states Free Returns

Also usually on selling format....seller does not accept returns is the default

jtakeda
09-03-2020, 05:57 PM

not exactly. If the return is based on the wrong item being sent or "item not as described" ebay case the seller is responsible for return shipping.

Its my least favorite Ebay policy as a seller.

You should have an option to send the buyer a prepaid postage pdf OR ebay can send one on your behalf and charge your seller account.

From my experience the way Ebay treats sellers these days its almost beneficial to describe your item in as few words as possible. Buyers can claim you said "great condition" when the condition is "good in my opinion" and ebay will side with the buyer and make you eat shipping. It favors the buyer to a point where I just accept returns even though my listings say no returns because I dont want to deal with ebay.