PDA

View Full Version : Pre glue tubular stretching.

robt57
08-25-2020, 10:27 AM
Started up tubular again, the tubeless tech has justified to me to roll them again. So far so good.

I air up tubulars on clincher rims to stretch, always have. Grab a wheel, wrap the tubular around the clincher rim, air up close to max psi [-10/20], left sit.

In this case I used one wider clincher rim which I have never done stretching a tubular before. Always a 15c, because last time I stretched a smaller sew-up all that was around was 15c open pro rims, or and unglued sew-up rim.

The 30mm Strada I did last month sat atop the clincher rim for the stretch. These today are 25mm LGG tubeless tubuars [Clement/Donnelly]

It appears the base tape caught on the wider rim edge and upon airing up pulled the tire into the rim cavity. It looked like it had a 12" section that was grossly smaller. I double checked aired up off the rim and realized my mistake.

I was about to return that tire. But checked off the rim @ 80 PSI to make sure I sent the right one back. OOPS!

The other on an Open Pro rim sat fine and passed the smell test.

Never had a fat rim around back when doing 22-3mm tubular installs. Live and learn.

The 25 LGG look to wanna be 26mm+ inflated. Looking forward to rolling these.

bikinchris
08-25-2020, 10:34 AM
I have always stretched tubular tires on tubular rims. Man, that sucks.

robt57
08-25-2020, 10:38 AM
I have always stretched tubular tires on tubular rims. Man, that sucks.

Best first choice, but no nude ones laying about just now. But I always used a 15c clincher so I could get glue on the rim going and drying.

I have to pull the CX-SC Vitts off the Rolfs these are going on. But they are still good, so not got that far until I knew the new tires passed pre install smell test.

Did I say I am excited about rolling these? ;)

Hindmost
08-25-2020, 12:06 PM
Never would have occurred to me to stretch a tubular on a clincher rim. Are the rim bed diameters similar?