PDA

View Full Version : Conti Gator Hardshell Alternative?

jpw
08-08-2020, 09:58 AM
I've been very successfully (very few punctures) using the Conti Gator Hardshell 32c, but I now want to up the volume to 35/38 to run slightly lower pressure on mixed surfaces including stoney gravel, and as the CGH tops out at 32c I need to consider other options.

I want a puncture protection layer ("the hardshell' of the Conti), a tread pattern for grip on loose surfaces (but not really knobbly - I want decent rolling on smooth road), not too heavy, and folding.

I've seen the Panaracer Gravel Kings, the Rene Here offerings, and one or two others. I have no experience of any of these.

Seeking recommendations.

Thanks.

mktng
08-08-2020, 10:08 AM
I've had great success with panaracer pasela's and gravel king's.

Gravel king's are definitely "faster" and feel a bit more comfortable. But the big thing is that they have TLR options.

Pasela's. Ran their 38 option. Low PSI. They felt great. Not as smooth rolling as the RH or the GK slicks. But still a great tires, and really affordable with good puncture protection.

AngryScientist
08-08-2020, 10:10 AM
I think the new Gravel King SS tires have your name written all over them. Smooth center strip to roll fast on pavement, and they should be pretty durable also.

Also - pretty much anything over a 32c tire really should be run tubeless with sealant, which will further reduce your incidences of punctures.

jpw
08-10-2020, 08:36 AM
Thanks.

Keep 'em coming :-)

skijoring
08-10-2020, 09:53 AM
Ugh, I recommend Schwalbe Marathons. Not for their ride quality/weight/general garden hose demeanor, but for their resistances to flats.
They have wire bead and folding models.
#Springwaterproven

zzy
08-10-2020, 10:51 AM
Marathon Supreme or gravelking SS with the pt belt. Also maxxis refuse

jpw
08-10-2020, 10:59 AM
Marathon Supreme or gravelking SS with the pt belt. Also maxxis refuse

The GK SS+? It is presently at the top of my short list :)