PDA

View Full Version : disc brake squeal

eddief
08-02-2020, 12:58 PM
i am relatively new to disc brakes, these on my 2019 Roubaix, these being Ultegra. the pads were replaced by LBS about 300 miles ago and they were perfectly fine for all that time till now. high end shop so i think the pads were bedded properly. they don't make noise while braking and still having a few rpms, but just before the final stop and as i release the levers at the stop, they squeal like crazy.

i cleaned rotors with alcohol and sanded the front pads but no improvement. should i assume the pads somehow got contaminated and are not fixable?

Spdntrxi
08-02-2020, 12:59 PM
last time my pads where contaminated.. I took a propane blow touch to it and cleaned with Iso. alcohol. it worked.

eddief
08-02-2020, 01:05 PM
and which part did you apply alcohol to?

last time my pads where contaminated.. I took a propane blow touch to it and cleaned with Iso. alcohol. it worked.

fogrider
08-02-2020, 01:07 PM
after washing with alcohol, soak/wash with soap and water.

eddief
08-02-2020, 01:19 PM
clarify.

QUOTE=fogrider;2768959]after washing with alcohol, soak/wash with soap and water.[/QUOTE]

merlinmurph
08-02-2020, 03:36 PM
Generally, that's because the pads got contaminated. Did you ride in the rain lately, or something similar to contaminate the pads?

People have various amounts of success cleaning the pads. It's worth a shot with new pads.

Good luck.

MikeD
08-02-2020, 03:53 PM
Do you have the L02A pads? My front squealed under heavy braking. I replaced them with the L03A pads, which are the new replacement for the L02A and they are supposed to last 40% longer and I think they are silent now. I also bought a pair of Swiss Stop Exotherm2 pads that I haven't tried yet.

eddief
08-02-2020, 03:54 PM
1. remove rotors, sand lightly with 240 grit, clean with finger nail polish remover.
2. remove pads, scrub with toothbrush and finger nail polish remover.